Open Day at Bardney Abbey Dig
Bardney Abbey Revealed
Throughout the summer of 2011, a project to re-excavate and conserve part of Bardney Abbey Refectory has been organised by Jews Court Trust, in partnership with Bardney Heritage Group and Bardney Heritage Centre. It is funded mainly by the Heritage Lottery Fund, with additional support from BBC Radio Lincolnshire.
The abbey, one of several in the Limewoods area was last excavated between 1909 and 1914 by the Rev. Charles Laing and local labourers. The site was covered over in 1933 after it was becoming damaged. The current excavation is a trial to see whether the remains of part of the refectory, where the monks ate their meals, are in a suitable condition to be left open.
Local volunteers have been assisting with the excavation which is overseen by Archaeological Project Services (APS) of Sleaford. Site excavation commenced on 14th June 2011 and a number of themed Open Days have been held to allow visitors to discover more of the fascinating history of the abbey.
The next Open Day will be held on Sunday 14th August with the theme of Local Crafts. Numerous demonstrations will be held throughout each day between 10:00hrs and 16:00hrs.
For details on how to find Bardney Abbey, download our Site Guide.
For more information on Bardney Abbey Revealed, please visit the Bardney Heritage Group website by clicking on the “Websites” tab above.